top of page

How to write a choose your own romance (Days 15-17)


In the zone! Have smashed out some amazing scenes and I'm just in love with this story-line. The updates are more spaced because I'm focused on writing.

So here's the thing - I'm writing the 'climax' when her world all falls apart and it is destroying me. I am so emotionally invested in this couple that I'm struggling to tear them apart.

Today, I'll push through and finish this scene knowing that tomorrow I'll be bringing them back together. It is setting me a challenge - to make the ending worthy of their love.

Seriously though, when writing a choose your own romance, whenever the story-lines merge it is always difficult to honour all of them. At the moment, I've put in a lot of "XXX" which is my edit note to show that this is where I want the path to go, but it might need refining as I write the other story paths. This is where the structure up front is so important.

Have you started writing your own? Let me know. A rising tide lifts all boats. K

bottom of page