top of page

How to edit a choose your own romance (day 1)


Have you ever found out that your lover, boyfriend, partner was cheating on you? Did it hurt more or less if it was with someone you knew?

What if it wasn't the first time? What would you do to protect your heart if you didn't want to leave them?

That's the premise for The Unfaithful Wife. I wrote the book a while ago, and have had the free extract up on Bookfunnel for a few months. I've done two major edits of the book, but with release only one month away it is time to do one last edit and two proof-reads.

Why the gap between writing and editing? For me, every book is perfect the moment I finish writing it. The characters are alive and the book is exactly what I want it to be.

I've lost perspective.

Coming back even a week later and I see gaps.

Reviewing it again and I see the inconsistencies and where I assumed you could read what was in my head (but wasn't on the page). Did I actually forget to describe Lucas?

It's been a couple of months since I last read The Unfaithful Wife so I will be coming back fresh and ready to introduce Nina to you!

Today, I'll read through once and highlight major things I need to do. Not spending so much time to lose the flow of reading, but highlight in colour code. Red for rewrite, Green for expand more, Yellow for more show and less tell. XXX for consistency check against my master Character Interviews.

It will be a lot of work, but I can't wait to start.

Preorder your copy of The Unfaithful Wife today at the special price of $2.99

bottom of page