top of page

How to edit a choose your own romance (Day 2)


First 20 pages done. Love, absolutely love the opening chapter. Strong start and even I want to know what happens next.

One of the biggest challenges when writing a choose your own romance is to make each of the lovers a real choice. I try hard when writing to do one story line at a time, that way I can get into the lover's head. But it is in editing (even if it is the second or third edit) when I realize if he needs more. That's why it is good to take a break between writing the book and editing. At least, for me.

I need to work more on the cheating husband's character today. How can he be a real happily ever after choice if we don't understand why he cheated and why he is truly willing to change this time if it will save his marriage.

So, today may be a little slower because I'd rather get it write than edit to a schedule.

bottom of page