top of page

How to edit a choose your own romance (Day 9)


No, we didn't miss a couple of days. Well, you didn't but I did.

There is something about reading when sick, the characters and plot look different. My empathy was at an all time high!

What did that mean? Well, I'm 20 pages from the end of the edit but will be going back for another 'empathy edit'. More from the male points of view.

Lucas is more than a random young hunk that is ready for anything. I want to know more about him and even start preparing for his stand alone romance - surely I'm not the only one who wants to fall in love with a man who is as at home on the surf board as the board room? Think sun tan and abs with a brain to match!

The husband, well we don't really know why he started cheating or why he kept going after he was first caught.

For some crazy reason, it was the fullness of the lover's empathy that made the gaps in the others so obvious.

Which is my lesson today about editing choose your own romance. For the reader to have a genuine choice for their own happily ever after, you have to treat each option equally. Give them an equally powerful story line, equal character development and an equally strong reason ending.

So, today's plan is to finish the final 20 pages of the current edit, and tomorrow I'll go back and flesh out Lucas and the husband.

bottom of page