top of page

Define success your way


It seems so long ago, but in November 2017 I published my first book. In a 'choose your own romance' genre that doesn't really exist, but that's okay because I'm writing the characters that are in my head and they lead me astray (quite often).

This week, the fifth book in that series went live. I'm building a small but very loyal base who inspire me with their reviews and touching emails. And still the characters keep coming.

Today, I finished proof-reading book four in a different series and it is ready for release in August. This series is closer to 'normal' romance books, but because I'm still letting the characters set their journey the romance is woven around read subjects. Loss of a partner to cancer and moving on. Loss of indigenous culture. Loss of identity when losing a business. Loss of a foster son who means as much as biological children. Future books deal with love from a wheelchair and love after surviving rape.

Life isn't always sunshine and roses. Sometimes we have to make the most of the rain and grow vegetables instead. My books are my truth for you.

Today I also sent out my second free prequel to my loyal readers. That makes 10 books out there looking to make a difference in someone's life plus another ready for August release.

I love all my readers. You have no idea how therapeutic writing has been for me mentally as well as physically.

For over 20 years, I've fought MS. Two years ago, my fingers stopped wanting to listen to my brain. I crocheted for a year and even though they got better, my brain would 'lose' words. Scared that I will be forced into early retirement, and having 'write a book' still on my bucket list, I had nothing to lose except hope.

So I wrote the first book and got one character out of my head. I can't explain the feeling of success when my fingers hit the right keys, or my brain finds the elusive word. I hope to be a commercially successful author one day. Until then, I'm glad to have friends like you all on my side as I am to you.

Why this post? Because there are different shades of success. If I was judging myself against sales and page reads, I'd pull the blanket over my head and give up. Instead, I'm judging myself by not giving up, for pushing my body and brain further than either wanted to go even 12 months ago.

You will define success differently. For some, it's getting out of bed or leaving their bedroom. For others, it is smashing a proposal and for others it is being able to feed and clothe their family.

However you define success, I hope you find it.

Follow

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2017 by Kenna Shaw Reed. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page