top of page

How to write a choose your own romance - the second love


The first story line takes the longest, because it includes all the 'common' scenes. Setting up the heroine, why one love or lover is not enough. I know you believe in love, but as an author I need you to believe that love can come in other forms - and that a woman has the right to choose.

The first love has to be perfectly imperfect and the happily ever after true to the heroine and also the hero. I need to believe so much that I would pick that story line.

Then I need to be unfaithful to the man I just fell in love with and start the second story line.

This is where the character interview is so important. Going back and getting to know the essence of T. Why did he appear in the book in the first place?

Then it hit me, he is the man who never hurt her. The man without the emotional baggage of her marriage. He is a perfectly clean slate if she wants a different future.

Now I know why Juliette would want to fall in love with T, all I have to do is write ...

bottom of page