top of page

The Politician's Wife - Her husband realizes his mistake!


Every cheating husband should have the moment when they realize what they've lost!

I loved writing this scene. Susannah is feeling totally loved by Christopher. Not knowing that James is realizing what an enormous mistake he made. It took walking away from his marriage to appreciate the woman he had taken for granted was really his only love. I wanted my heart to break for him, but it didn't. Enjoy! Kenna

James

He dodged a bloody bullet. A maniacal, narcissistic, egomaniac bullet.

Life with Lara started out to be everything he expected. Sex, work and more sex. Only, she wanted more – to be a star!

“If she has moved out of the house, when should I start bringing my things over.”

“Don’t be stupid,” he didn’t even think about his tone until a book flew past his head.

“You can’t be expected to move out of your electorate. It’s your townhouse, she’s moved out. I’m your girlfriend and partner. The world expects me to move in and be by your side.”

“Lara, these things take time. Susannah is taking a break and getting used to the idea of us.” Not for the first time, he saw Lara as a spoilt child thinking the world revolved around her. Without an ounce of grace or humility or compassion that Susannah had in spades.

“This is the perfect time, I should come over, have dinner and get to know your girls. I know the perfect photographer who can take some snaps to give out to discrete journalists.”

“I don’t think my girls are quite ready to meet you,” she ignored his caution.

“Now I am your partner and not some office worker, I should have an expense account, and the party should set me up with an image consultant. I’m thinking ‘sexy and smart.’ A whole wardrobe featuring local designers, I could even auction off each of my outfits for charity.”

He’d created a monster. Thinking she would run out of steam, he left her unit and headed into the office. Only to get a call from his bank.

“Mr Dawson, an online purchase has been flagged as out of the ordinary for your account.”

“My wife is away and may have charged some items,” he thought the charges would give a hint as to where she had gone. “Can you be more specific?”

“Three designer suits, two evening gowns and a number of sets of lingerie.”

He closed his eyes before asking, “How much?” Surely, Lara hadn’t gone mad with his card, it was barely ten am.

“Fifteen thousand, three hundred and forty two dollars.”

“I’m sorry, my wife would never make those purchases. They are not authorized.”

“Certainly, sir. We will contact the vendor to cancel the order.”

He sunk into the back of his leather chair before dialing.

“You are the most generous and amazing man, wait until you see what I’ve just ordered – I can’t wait until you see me in the turquoise …”

“Lara, I need …” he tried to cut her off.

“We need to organize a dinner with all your supporters to introduce me …”

“Lara, wait …” why wouldn’t the woman listen.

“… and then the article will come out in all the magazines showing how you have traded up in the world and we are ready to step out and show off your presidential side.”

“I cancelled the purchase.” What article, which journalist and had the party been involved? He bedded a fiery sex kitten and woke up with an ambitious lioness.

“You what!”

“I can’t afford to have you spend that much on clothes.”

“Of course you can, look at the house you live in and the school your daughters attend. Do you want me to be embarrassed in interviews and at the dinner? Do you really want me to wear my old clothes?”

“Lara, please, one step at a time. I don’t have a lot of money, and I need to sort things out with Susannah. Your clothes look fine and we need to take our time before thinking about interviews and hosting dinners.”

“Do you want me as your partner or not?” Up until she asked the question, he was sure. Now, not so much.

“You bastard.”

“Lara, please, we need time for the mess to blow over.”

“I refuse to wear the same old dowdy clothes as the first Mrs Dawson. I have an image to uphold.”

“An image that costs money that I don’t make.”

“Then screw your ex-wife in the divorce. Claim spousal support and make sure you get what we deserve. If she can afford it, make her pay.”

“I don’t want that kind of divorce. I need to think of the girls. What would they think of their father doing that.”

“Perhaps it’s time you thought about me and whether you want a future with me or not.”

“Carol, it’s James. I need damage control.”

“A bit late for that. Your little girlfriend has been ringing around magazines, offering her story to the highest bidder. It’s only a matter of time before she closes a deal – especially as Susannah has kept a graceful silence.”

“I made a mistake.”

“Which one. Of all the things I have to do today, cleaning up your mistakes seems to be taking up my top ten.”

He ground his teeth, not wanting to admit to failing himself his marriage and his party.

“I need your help, can I come around?”

“Why not, it isn’t as if I have anything better to do.”

Not for the first time in the past couple of weeks, he wanted to call Susannah. To hear her voice, to bounce ideas off her for a new policy he was thinking about supporting. Living between Lara’s unit and the house with the girls, he missed the normality of his family.

Never again, would they have Sunday banquet breakfasts, toast, bacon, omelette, porridge or muesli, hash browns, and eggs every different way for anyone who dropped in. The perfect day for family, friends and colleagues who wanted to chat, catch up or come together. Susannah in the kitchen with never ending pots of tea and cups of coffee. The girls with their friends. Even teenage girls on a diet couldn’t resist his egg-white omelette.

Lara wanted sexy lie-in and first class tickets to opening nights. Designer clothes and expensive holidays.

Already, he missed the life he took for granted, and was willing to do anything to get Susannah back. Genuinely back in his life.

“So, James, come in and tell me what mistakes you want me to fix for you today.”

“Get Lara out of my life and help me repair my marriage.”

Less than an hour later, he had a plan.

“Cancel any credit cards you gave her, and any access she has to your money. Are there any clothes or things you have at her place you can’t live without?”

“Susannah destroyed most of my clothes. I have this suit and one set of gear at the gym.”

“Photos, memorabilia?”

“Either still at home, or at the office.”

“We will put Lara on full-paid leave until we can find her another job. Of course, if she gives out any interviews which puts the party in a negative light, we will find her in breach of her contract and everyone can walk away.”

“She’s already lining up interviews.”

“I know,” Carol shook her head, not for the first time. “You had a bright future, and we all ignored your dalliances, but if Susannah takes you back …”

“If I can convince her to take me back, she’ll never forgive me if I slip up again.”

“You bloody fool, it’ll be even worse for you. The media – everyone – will be tracking your movements and looking for suspicion of another girlfriend or affair.”

“I want my wife back.”

“It would be easier on everyone if you walked away from Lara, but stayed single. That way, we don’t have to cover for your one afternoon flings.”

“I don’t want Lara, or to be single. I fucked up my marriage and I want it back.”

“Then take a few weeks leave, sort things out with Susannah. And for goodness sake, bring back Christopher Lowe. He was the only one in your office who had any sense.”

“He quit. He refused to put out a media release in Susannah’s name without her okay.”

“Quite right,” Carol ticked off the items on her list before giving him the soft encouragement he needed. “Go and find the woman you married and bring her home.”

Susannah.

Recovering, naked and still in bed at midday, Susannah waited for Christopher to return with replacement coffees.

Having been silent for days, her phone rang on the side table. It took her a moment to recognize the sound, she had even forgotten it was still charged!

James.

Debating whether to answer, Christopher walked in and saw the number.

“I’m not going to,” she assured him, wanting him to come back and erase the hurt in his own, very special way. Flashes of love and hurt and anger rushed through her in time with the phone ring. Her husband loved another woman, what could he be calling about? To tell her the name of his lawyer?

“He can’t do anything to you, I’m here.”

“I don’t want to,” she could never explain how she felt, not to herself and certainly not to the naked man standing before her.

“Do it,” a reassuring kiss from her lover as she answered her husband’s call.

“Susannah, thank God you answered. I need to see you,” she didn’t even recognize the voice on the phone. After all these years together, how quickly he had become a stranger.

“Why?” She traced Chris’ abs and strong arms with her eyes, needing to focus on the here and now, not on the fallacy of her marriage.

“Because I need to tell you something, and you need to hear it in person, please, baby.” James, master of the seductive plea. How often had she heard him use that tone to sooth a constituent or to get his way. Was it the same plea he used with his girlfriend, she pushed the thought aside.

“That’s not happening. Tell me now or I’m hanging up,” drawing her own inspiration and strength from knowing any moment, Chris could be inside her, filling her with new memories of a future being loved.

“Suzie, I fucked up. I made a mistake. I don’t love her – never have. She was a mistake. It took you walking away, me losing you for me to realize.”

“Realize what.” No, it couldn’t be happening. Not now, when she wanted to be happy.

“I know it now, I’ve known it all along just too stupid to realize it. Damn it Suzie I know I’m not making sense. I love you.” In the babbling words strung together as a single breath, his message came through clearly.

“Oh,” she inhaled, closing her eyes, holding her breath. This couldn’t be happening!

“Suzie, did you hear what I said?”

“I distinctly remember you telling me that you love her. I think I even told you she was welcome to you.”

“I’ve been a bloody fool. I love you. I want you back.”

“Oh,” surely, she should be feeling something? Instead there was a numbness, a white hole where any emotion should have been telling her what to do.

“Susannah, please.”

She couldn’t think, couldn’t answer.

“Suzie, I promise you I’ll do whatever it takes – just let me love you again.”

There you have it! Everything you need to know before you choose whether Susannah is willing to hear what her husband has to say, or whether she has already moved on. It won't be your only choice but I promise that whatever you choose, Susannah will be satisfied!

If you want to choose her happily ever after, get The Politician's Wife today.

Follow

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2017 by Kenna Shaw Reed. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page