top of page

The Unfaithful Wife - Nina's shock and pain


"I like the pick your own ending series. This author knows how to write with mystery and twists. I had to read this book straight through. Honest review in exchange for this book." Brenda

Nina

The stupid little girl stood shivering in the sea breeze, shattered with fear and shame. Crying over her lost love. Embarrassed by her own stupid indiscretion. The narcissistic little, Nina couldn’t bring herself to even think the word - apologizing to her lover for telling his wife. Really? Nina couldn’t believe there was no apology for her. Why should there be, he was only her husband.

Her loving husband. Clearly, he never thought he’d be caught. How many times had she heard the clichés before? ‘I love you.’ ‘It meant nothing.’ ‘I couldn’t help it.’ ‘It just happened.’

This time there was no shrug of the shoulders or passive aggressive forgiveness. Only denial and then arrogance.

She couldn’t believe it had happened, again. He couldn’t believe he’d been caught.

At that first intern welcome day, they had both seen her potential. Derek fought to have the intern join his team. Was that when he first decided he had to have her?

At the time, Nina gracefully stepped aside and became a mentor, even a friend. And yet he still crossed that well-worn line. Bastard. Stupid, cruel bastard.

With barely a glance to her, Mason took the girl away, comforting her. Nina tried to listen as Derek went through his routine of atonement.

Any moment now, Nina thought. He’d run out of excuses and turn the blame on her. Cutting off his speech she knew by rote by walking over to the drinks table, she accepted the offer of champagne.

“My darling husband, here’s to whatever the night brings.”

“Why would you want to make a toast right now?”

“My darling, one should always celebrate adversity. It is surviving such moments that makes life memorable. And you, my darling husband, have give me so much to remember.”

Nina resisted the urge to down her glass or throw it over him. Even now, and despite what happened, the boat was filled with clients and potential clients. She refused to make a spectacle of herself.

“You drove me to it.” Right on cue. How pathetic.

“Don’t. Not here and not now.” She wouldn’t allow him to make a mockery of their relationship in this manner and certainly not take the blame from him, again.

“You never had time for me. It was always the kids and work. I didn’t even come in a close third.” Nina sighed, she’d heard it all before. Why couldn’t he understand that she needed time to process what she heard before forcing her to listen to his excuses, especially when there was nothing new.

“I love you. I always have, and probably always will.” He gave her that winning smile that had charmed her for so many years, “But if you don’t leave me alone for the rest of this cruise, I might forget how much I love you and say what I’m feeling.” With that, he stopped smiling. Nina came closer so her lowered voice would have more impact than the smile she tried to keep in place.

“Believe me when I tell you. You want to give me time. You want me to have some distance away from you so I can process my feelings before I share them. With you or anyone.” To anyone watching, they were a couple embracing. Nina held the smile practiced years ago in front of photographers who wanted sincerity whether faked or real, drawing his eyes to hers.

He waited a moment, probably testing how serious she was before nodding his understanding. She released him and walked away.

She hated how much she loved him.

More than that, she hated how much he was still able to hurt her.

Nina looked at the crowd. Almost every large firm was represented here and surely, if she played her cards right she could steal at least one client from her husband tonight. It was the only revenge that he would feel lasting pain.

Of all her husband's affairs, this one has hurt the most. Can Nina forgive him or has she got another way of soothing her broken heart? If you want to choose her happily ever after, get The Unfaithful Wife today.

bottom of page