top of page

How to write a choose your own romance (Day 7)

After yesterday's boss writing session, I'm about to finish Part 1 today. Then the writing gets complicated and satisfying. It always makes me remember the Robert Frost poem, The Road Not Taken.

The whole premise of a choose your own romance is that our leading lady, Juliette, is at a cross-roads. One of the paths will bring her to the happily ever after with her husband. One path will lead to a lover and usually there is a third path to follow.

Based on feedback for The Politician's Wife, I might even start adding a fourth option at the end!

Anyway, again I digress. Today I will start writing the love story between Juliette and her husband. This is where a strong structure and summary for each chapter will help (Day 1). It also helps when I have done a thorough character interview (remember from Day 3) because when I fall in love with the husband, it has to be real. I have to forgive him for his sins so that Juliette can. Yes, the scene is set in Part 1, but this is when there is no place to hide.

Follow

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2017 by Kenna Shaw Reed. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page